Home

You’re Never Too Old To Start Writing!

April 19, 2013

_MG_1777 (2) 3Ann Goodfellow Tells Us Her Story

My first book was accepted for publication the year I reached 71. I had begun writing Prayers and Devotions more than 25 years before, through a weekly prayer letter for my church. I enjoyed writing, but never thought of publication. But after I retired God kept prompting me to write books. Yes! Books. Not just one!

The first book took over 3 years to put together – and many more years of rejection after rejection from publishers.

God always has a plan though! I had submitted my proposal to a new publisher, just 1 week after I had been rejected again. Three weeks later I received a phone call from overseas, showing interest, but the book was far too long, and would be difficult to promote from an unknown author. They suggested reducing the 52 weeks of daily devotions to make the book an acceptable length. We worked well together and the first book was received in December 2008.

Most publishers tend to publish only already known and affirmed authors. So God really wanted this book to be out there for people to read and grow to know Him in a deep and personal way, through a daily quiet time.

Now came yet another challenge! Distribution!

I had received 500 books for my own personal contacts and started to promote them to my church, friends, family, and by word of mouth. I have successfully distributed all 500 of the first book – praise God.

Goodfellow_Cover (2)Since then I have written another four books, and they have been successfully published, not only in printed form, but also as eBooks – so they are readily available all over the world. My newest will be available in two months time.

2 Corinthians 8 : 11 says, “On with it, then, and finish the job! Be as eager to finish it as you were to plan it, and do it with what you now have.”

My husband of 48 years died just two months before the first book was delivered to me, but he had always been very supportive. I have since moved into a retirement village, and am glad to be able to fill my days with writing for God. Writing and publication has been a wonderfully satisfying new career, and I give God all the glory as I promote Him to all who desire to read about His love.

Ann’s books will be available at the Beauty for Ashes conference book table. They are also available as eBooks here.

4 Responses to “You’re Never Too Old To Start Writing!”

  1. sashirl Says:

    I am currently working through Ann’s most recent book, and it’s beautiful.

  2. Margaret Says:

    I truly believe that I was led to this post. Having recently started on my writing journey, and having conflicting thoughts on whether at the age of 50, I am too old to start writing, I now feel that I have confirmation. I am not quite sure what it is that I should be writing but I do feel that God is taking me on a journey and I am so excited and anxious to write for God. Thank you so much for inspiring me. I am looking so forward to the Beauty for Ashes women’s conference this month. 🙂

    Kind regards,

    Margaret

  3. rheta Says:

    i am also inspired to continue writing the books God has laid on my heart and that at the right time the door to publish will open and the finances that come with it.


Leave a Reply

